Culinary School Here I Come (84) Last Day of School, I Can’t Believe I Forgot the Butter & Graduation


So as I was loading up my car for my last day at school, I remembered the first day that I loaded up my truck to start the journey that I’m completing today. I will be on campus to turn in a portfolio and the take my last final in Advanced Baking. I can’t say it was bittersweeet but I can say I was so excited for this chapter to come to a close. Where the chapter continues is up to fate. I did learn some lessons not related to culinary school. I learned that after all these years, I can be patient. I’ve had to put things on hold for months because of my involvement in school. Had this been 20 years ago, it would have driven me totally crazy. Not now. Maybe age? I can’t say. I’ve also become more confident of speaking in public and especially on a microphone. I still get pretty nervous but not as bad.

I baked a whole batch of Banango Bread (Banana Mango) and forgot to put in the butter. I’ve discovered something though….it didn’t need it at all. I now have a low fat recipe in my cadre that was a total “mistake.”

What do you do when you have leftover pastry cream, chocolate cake, creme chantilly and strawberries? Make Choco-Strawberry Shortcake!

I also had some friends visiting from Los Angeles so I whipped up this Chicken Roulade with Sundried Tomatoes and Goat Cheese, Cranberry & Raisin Couscous, Kabocha Squash Puree & Roasted Asparagus Spears.

I love my yard so with my new found time, I’m able to finally reap the benefits.

Mangoes, papayas and Roma tomatoes. My eggplant is getting close and I’ve been harvesting my basil for Lemon Basil sorbet. You have to steep it for a while in the simple syrup first.

My mango tree has been very productive. I have close to 8 huge ziplock bags in the freezer ready for Mango Margaritas.

Oh, by the way, I graduated. Wow, all I can say is that it didn’t come soon enough. My next and last blog from the Culinary School Here I Come series will reflect about the two years and give you my thoughts about the program and any culinary program. Here are a few shots from the event.

Tinfoilduck.

Tinfoilduck with Chef Kyle and Chef Jake.

Tinfoilduck with Angie and Thomas. Together we have a total of 158 years of experience!

Getting our placement down before the show! It was an unorganized mess that didn’t get any more organized throughout the night.

You would think that I’d take a few days off after graduation. I started a 2 week seminar at the college taking a HESP Energy Management course. HESP stands for home energy survey professional. I will soon be able to do an energy audit of home to see where you can improve on your energy efficiency. I was hoping that I’d have a few days off but I was not so lucky!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (84) Last Day of School, I Can’t Believe I Forgot the Butter & Graduation

  1. steveaw says:

    SO GOOD & SO PROUD!

  2. Tom Lelli says:

    great job ken! congratulations. I know it has been a long two years but you really did shine. I remember when your first started! Great blog to follow the whole time too. mean…chefT

  3. pappybro says:

    Congratulations, Ken. Hopefully I’ll be doing a similar journey in two years.

Leave a Reply

