Culinary School Here I Come (82) 3 More Class Days, Baking Competition Practice & I Was Robbed!


Well I wasn’t physically robbed, just emotionally but I’ll get into that later. OH MY HELL, I only have 3 more class days left. I also have an Advanced Baking Competition and a final for that and a portfolio due. That’s it. Wow, I knew I’d finally get here but it’s getting so exciting now that I can see the end.

I’ve been practicing with my partner, Myra, our competition plated dessert. Carrot Cake; Traditional and Modern.

So, on the left side you will find the traditional carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and pineapple. It will betopped with a white chocolate disc painted like a cross section of a carrot. On the left is the modern treatment of carrot cake. We have taken the flavors of carrot cake; cream cheese, carrots, pineapple, coconut and pecans and have featured them in non traditional ways. The base is a cream cheese semifreddo, on that sits a carrot mousse and a quenelle of carrot sherbet and is topped with a carrot tuile. The modern treatment sits on a sea of pineapple foam with diced pineapple relish, toasted coconuts and candied pecans. Wow, I hope all that gets done and plated in time.

Carrot tuiles. I’ve never done a tuile before so I though it would be a good idea to practice! It’s thin and crispy and looks like a carrot to me!

We’re getting our sorbet syrup ready. Sherbet is made with sorbet syrup, your flavor base, milk and a tiny amount of cream. We did a test run and it was a success.

Our cream cheese semifreddo and carrot mousse in the blast chiller. Can’t decide which flexi mold to use so we tried as many as we could.

Yes, showtime begins at 7:15. We are the second group to start. Gotta get to the ice cream maker first!

Ok, here’s the robbed part. It’s not a biggie but kind of a downer. In Garde Manger class, there is always a final competition that is judged by industry chefs and graded according to ACF standards. In the 15 years of competition at the college, only 1 gold medal has been awarded. Last semester, my group got the highest marks and we only got a silver. So, they changed the judging and tabulating criteria.

The judges are mulling over the first groups offerings.

So, here is where things start to break down. Last semester each group had to produce 1. a charcuterie item which was allowed to be prepared the day before, cut and glazed with aspic on the day of competition, 2. a composed salad, 3. a hot appetizer with a sauce & 4. an hors d’oeuvre plate with 3 items. On top of all this, it was a mystery basket competition, so we didn’t know what items we were going to use until 15 minutes before we had to come up with a menu. Granted, each group consisted of 4 members. This year it was either 2 or 3 members and if you had 2 member in a group, you made a charcuterie item and 1 hors d’oeuver. If your group had 3 members, you’d have a charcuterie item and 2 hors d’oeuvre. Out the door went the mystery basket and they had weeks to decide what to prepare. The outcome was some good food, mostly mediocre and the results were 4 gold medals, 2 silvers and 2 bronze. WTF. Anyway, I’m actually not bitter, just disappointed.

Cannot wait for school to end. Stay tuned next week for the final Baking Competition results.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (82) 3 More Class Days, Baking Competition Practice & I Was Robbed!

  1. steveaw says:

    i always enjoy the “behind the scenes” stuff: drawings, notes, prep. gives us common ducks even more insight as 2 what it takes 2 make all this happen! congrats on all your hard work!

  2. tinfoilduck says:

    Thanks and you’ll probably be glad when this journey is all done!!!!

Leave a Reply

