Culinary School Here I Come (80) T – 4 Weeks & Counting & Lost Another Student


What is going on? In my last blog, I wrote about 2 culinary students that were killed in a car crash. I found out yesterday that another culinary student was found “unresponsive” at the dorms. She had transferred out of the program but I had a couple classes with her, one of which was Beginning Baking.  You will be missed, Shell.

Like the title says, T – 4 Weeks. That means 4 weeks to go. 1 final is down, only 1 more but I do have a couple of projects and a final Plated Dessert Competition. This week was voting on the Purchasing Class garden project. M & W class Vs. T & Th class.  Guess who won!

T & Th class : (

M & W class  : )   We won! We get 6 hours off of purchasing lab. What will I do with my free time? We also had to produce a mini segment for 1 of the 6 functions of purchasing. My group was responsible for maintenance.  Here goes!

We had fun doing it and it ate up one class so all’s good!

We spent the week in Advanced Baking class working on the Aipono awards desserts for the weekend. I wrote about it last week. There was no plate up this week but the awards are tonite so I’ll be taking a photo of it to share. This is a pic of pate a choux being piped for use as a decor.

Over at the resort. I normally get there around 1:00 pm on Friday. I got there at my usual time and no one was there. Had I been smart, I would have turned around and left. Silly me asked the Sous Chef where everyone was. The only other person coming in wasn’t scheduled till 2:00. So I hung around and busied myself. I’m never there alone so I was able to take a few shots.

It’s usually hard for me to take pics so I was able to snap my way around the kitchen and walk in. When the other baker arrived I was assigned to do the pumpkin tarts. I just love those tart shells. Aw, Shell, I miss you.

The final gets a whipped cream dollop and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar.

I am a student representative to the Advisory Board of the Maui Culinary Academy. We are in the process of being visited by member of the American Culinary Federation to get re-certified. Some board members were asked to dinner with the ACF members at Ko Restaurant at the Fairmont Kea Lani Resort in Wailea with Executive Chef Tylan Pang. The dinner was wonderful.

Our first course was a Stone Seared Ahi with an Asian Dipping Sauce. It was interesting being able to sear your own slab of Ahi. As much or as little as you like! The stone is superheated in a salamander then placed on a bed of salt to stabilize and diffuse some of the heat from hitting the bowl.

Our appetizer course consisted of Kobe Beef Poke, Hamakua Farms Alii Mushroom and Organic Chicken Lumpia and Spicy Ahi Sushi. I could have just stopped here. Pretty awesome and amazing.

I don’t recall what this dish was called, but it was my entree. It was Chioppino like. Lots of seafood (lobster, shrimp, scallops, mussels & clams) in a tomatoey broth with green olives and peppers. What a wonderful dish.

We were served a dessert sampler. The two standouts for me was the lower left and the lower right square cake in the back. I know this as a dobash cake from a local bakery. It was the lightest and tenderest cake ever. The lower right was a fried dough ball with amazing coconut ice cream. Yummers. The whole concept of Ko is Plantation Style local cooking of different ethnicity. It was a fun night with lots of wine. Thumbs up.

So, I’ll be leaving shortly to attend the Aipono awards. I’ll fill you in on that later.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Culinary School Here I Come (80) T – 4 Weeks & Counting & Lost Another Student

  1. steveaw says:

    LOVE THE VIDEO! & the food @ KO looks killer! LET’S GO NOW!

Leave a Reply

