Culinary School Here I Come (78) Frozen Entremets, Peanut Brittle and Mid-Terms


Ugh, my advanced baking II mid-term was not pretty. 2 1/2 hours and I needed every minute. We are allowed to take a 1 page cheat sheet in so I printed everything on 8 font. Even with all my notes I think I just did okay. I always make notes on obscure stuff but I always get tested on the common sense stuff that I forget. We’ll see what the grade is next time. I also had a purchasing quiz on Friday. I can’t tell you how excited I am for the weekend.

We unmolded and completed our frozen entremets. The selection was varied and eclectic. First, this is our Carrot Gelato, Pineapple Sorbet and Cream Cheese Semifreddo Entremet in the decorating stage.

We first had to unmold them. What a biatch that was. I think that was the hardest part of the project. We dunked them in hot water and tried to pry the plastic mold off.

The next step was to airbrush the sucker.

Then, some confetti chocolate decor.

Not bad for our first (and last) try! You can actually see they layers. First, the cream cheese semifreddo in the center, pineapple sorbet around and carrot gelato on top.

Some other flavors included: Lychee gelato outside, coconut ice cream middle and ginger lemongrass semifreddo middle. The flavors were pretty good.

Eeew Stephen, don’t be gross! This one is Hazelnut gelato outside, chocolate sorbetto middle and coffee semifreddo middle. Yummers!

Oh those girls used crack again for this one. Pistachio paste! Pistachio gelato, chocolate ice cream and vanilla semifreddo middle. This one was the prettiest and it was the heaviest to eat. A little went a long way but it was good….sorta like my blue cheese ice cream!

That concluded our Frozen Entremet section. We will be touring a local ice cream manufacturing company next week so I’ll have lots of pics and another sugar crash.

It’s no secret that I’m a work out addict. My biggest issue with going to culinary school was wondering if I were going to get enough work out time in. Whether it be swimming, lifting, yoga, spinning & paddling, I’m an active kind of duck. I was doing okay until this semester…with all the studying and classes and working. I’m down to about 40% of my current work out level and I’m feeling it. People who work out generally feel better…until they stop. All the aches and pains that come with not working out does not discriminate. I’ve been having hamstring cramps while swimming and a weird Achilles tendon issue when I spin. I can’t wait to get back to 100%.

It’s peanut brittle time! I was a peanut brittle virgin until this week. It’s not hard to do. You start with sugar and water, then some glucose syrup. When it gets really hot (I’m winging this because I don’t have the formula with me), add butter, vanilla, salt, peanuts and popcorn. Heat to an even higher temp then turn out on a lightly oiled marble.

Yummy, teeth breaking peanut brittle.

Next week is kind of a nothing week. I have 2 field trips and it’s the week before spring break. I never thought that as an adult I would look forward to spring break! Not much will be happening, but I’ll still be reporting! Time to catch up on reading, assignments, beach, working out and napping.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Culinary School Here I Come (78) Frozen Entremets, Peanut Brittle and Mid-Terms

  1. steveaw says:

    THESE R ALL SOOOOO COOL LOOKING!!!

Leave a Reply

