Culinary School Here I Come (76) Semifreddo (Younger Brother of Alfredo)


We started our aerated still-frozen dessert section of Advanced Baking and I already have a new friend, Semifreddo. I don’t have any pics to show yet. Of all the still-frozen desserts, the semifreddo is the most complicated as it contains all three foams; egg yolk (pate a bombe), egg white (Italian meringue) and heavy cream. Timing is crucial as both sugars for the pate a bombe and Italian meringue need to be brought to soft ball stage (240 degrees). It would be a luxury to have three mixers working at the same time so we had to settle for two. We chose to make a Creme Cheese Semifreddo. Our pate a bombe was flavored with softened cream cheese to which the Italian merangue was folded into, then finally the whipped cream. The semifreddo is part of our Frozen Entremet project that we are working on. Our vision is to create the taste of carrot cake but without the cake so we are using the sour cream semifreddo, pineapple sorbet and carrot gelato. Wish us luck. Pictures to follow next time.

Mise en place for gelato base.

We finally spun our ice cream base from the week before. Our flavor was mint chocolate chip.

Mint chocolate chip isn’t my go to flavor but this one was really good. Damn you cream, milk, eggs and sugar. Why do you have to taste so good but be so fattening?

In purchasing class, our research projects were due and presentations were made on Friday. I chose to do my report on the CAS freezing system. It’s a pretty new way of freezing. It was discovered in Japan in the early 2000’s. In a nutshell, the physics of freezing is reworked. Traditional freezing causes ice crystals to form and enlarge such that it punctures the cell walls of foods causing food “weep” and nutrition loss. CAS freezing uses a magnetic field to spin water molecules in cells. The temperature is brought down and the electromagnetic field is turned off and the item gets frozen immediately. Spinning molecules do not attract other molecules so you only have individual ice crystals instead of multiple damaging ones. I’m including a link to my project if you are interested in reading more about it. Culn 271 research CAS

Over in Garde Manger where I’m fellowing with fellow, fellow Kristin, we were experimenting on an idea for an item in our Molecular Bar that we will be presenting. More details on this to follow. We had taken a sphere of white wine and wanted to see if we could brulee a sphere, it would hold up. Well, we couldn’t find a torch so this was all we had to work with.

A note to all of you, a bic lighter is not an appropriate substitute for a blow torch. We are still not certain if a sphere can be bruleed. More to follow.

As I’m plugging along in getting all of my 225 hours for my work practicum class, I added up my current hours and came up with a pleasant 135 hours so far with 2 months to go. My estimate is that I’ll be okay with garde manger hours and the resort so I gave the cookie shop my week notice. It was kinda sad yet not. That 8:30-11:00 PM shifts were taking a toll on me especially since I get up at 4:30 AM. As a token of their appreciation, they gave me a good bye, thank you cake.

I scored big! It was their Queen Emma cake, retail value $33.

OMG, one of the best cakes ever. Lilikoi, Guava and Haupia. I’m going to savor this one.

I was excited for Friday to come. Last day of the week, but I had to put in a full day at the resort. At around 3 PM, the executive chef call everyone to the kitchen for a pre-shift meeting. They discussed the termination of a few management people, asked for suggestions on name changes for a few of the venues, then turned to me and asked me what I had learned so far. Semi speechless, I utter “um, I made lady fingers and I helped plate up desserts for the buffet.” He then said, “while you are here, you should be a sponge. You should look at recipes, you should ask to make things, you should learn, learn, learn.”

So learn I did. I’ve never seen a whole 11 pound bar of 58% fine Belgian chocolate. What could I do with this? Well, I made 20 pounds of ganache.

Very simple! Equal parts of chocolate and heavy cream, heated and just poured over the chopped chocolate. The hardest part was chopping 11+ pound of chocolate.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (76) Semifreddo (Younger Brother of Alfredo)

Leave a Reply

