Culinary School Here I Come (73) Sugar Sculpture, Escrow and a Dinner Party


Do you ever have a week where it seems like it gets away from you? This week was just that. There was nothing I could do to catch up. So much going and so little time. Ironically, my horoscope read today said “the pendulum swings between mundane and madness.” I can tell you that it’s in the madness range. In addition to all the time I spend with school and externships, I just put into escrow a real estate listing that I had. I am a Realtor by trade and this week my two worlds collided. The high point…or should I say low point was when I was texting the selling agent in the walk in fridge of the resort that I “work” at. A few days of stress will result in some happy times though!

In purchasing class, I was assigned to receiving. We check incoming order invoices against our order sheets to be sure that we get the correct amount of product. Sometimes we don’t receive what we order so we have to reorder. After the incoming order gets checked in, we have price everything out…case amount, unit amount, etc. Once that is determined, we look at our requisition sheets from each of our outlets and fulfill the order. It could be from items that we just received or from items that we have in stock. I received an order with 65 items. It was a little stressful but you just have to keep you cool and take things slow.

Our purchasing class has taken on a garden project. Actually, not by choice. More like by bribery. The winning class for the gardening project gets a few lab hours excused. Sign me up. Next week I will be assigned to special projects.

We started our sugar sculpure. We worked on pressed sugar…sort of like making a sugar cube. 1000 g sugar, 40 g water = sugar sculpture base…hopefully.

After the sugar base, we worked on pastillage.

Did I say it’s a Valentine’s Day theme?

Hearts, butterflies and squiggles…before

Hearts, butterflies and squiggles….after airbrushing.

Next week we make a poured sugar base.

With all the craziness that came with the week, I was still able to create and make a 5 course dinner for some friends.

Carrot Ginger Soup with Fried Curry Tofu.

Warm Romaine Lettuce, Grilled Yellow Squash, Tomatoes with Dijon Vinaigrette and Asparagus Parmesan Tart.

1 egg, half & half, salt & pepper asparagus, parmesan cheese and a par baked pie shell = happiness.

Nothing says “you’re special” like some homemade cracked black peppercorn and lemon fettucine. Add Grilled Pesto Shrimp, Fresh Tomato, Basil and Garlic. Oh, I got the parsley and basil from my garden. Can’t wait for lemons.

Since I had some Rum Raisin Ice Cream and Caramel Sauce lying around, it was easy to whip up this plated dessert. Chocolate Lava Cake with Hawaiian Salt, Rum Raisin Ice Cream, Fresh Bosc Pear with Caramel Sauce and Creme Chantilly. I’m getting ready for my plated dessert final practical in Advanced Baking.

The first course was Kabocha Squash Mousse in Poppy Seed Barquettes. I wasn’t quick enough to get a photo.

Next week should be interesting. I’ve signed up to work for actual pay. However will I fit it into my schedule. I may have to blow off a few days of school. We shall see.

 

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

