Culinary School Here I Come (72) Sugar Work, Desserts and Exhaustion


This was the first week of my full externship schedule. I put in a total of 20 hours this week. Fridays are rough. I’m at the cookie shop from 8:30 – 11:00 pm on Tuesdays and Thursday but I also get up at 4:30 in the morning. So, after putting a full day of school and “work” on Friday, when I got home at 6, I laid on the floor and napped. I later tried to watch a 2 hour movie that I was asleep for almost all of the movie. I hope this gets easier.

I look forward to Saturday mornings because I can go out and paddle with my canoe club. We are in the middle of humpback whale season so whenever we go out we get a pretty spectacular show. The water was so choppy this morning that I actually felt seasick when we got back to shore. Another beautiful morning on Maui.

We all got reassigned in Purchasing class. My new duty is to receive, separate, price and deliver the items that we get delivered. It can be a bit confusing because there are 5 people in our group and that seems to be too many people for what is needed. I’ll try to get some pics next week and show you a little bit of the process.

Part of my externship hours is spent in the Garde Manger class helping out Chef Craig there. The students were working on sausage so I got to cube what felt to be 100 pounds of pork on Monday.

With sausage making comes sausage stuffing. The students get to lean how to work with pork casing. Yuk!

There was a lot of activity in Baking class. On Tuesday, we all were assigned one component to the plated dessert for Class Act. We were assigned the Chocolate Pot de Creme with a Chocolate & Cinnamon Marshmallow.

Pot de Creme is a very rich and smooth custard that is baked in a water bath.

Marshmallows are pretty easy to make. It’s very sticky and hard to work with. You have to dust your mold with a mixture 50/50 of confectioners sugar and potato starch. Sugar, glucose, tremoline and honey were the sweeteners used.

The chocolate pot de creme with marshmallow and whipped cream topping is on the lower right.

It’s time to pull sugar!

Sugar demo done. We all tried to make these sugar twirls, some better than others. Mine was a little thick. We’ll be working with sugar all next week.

At the cookie shop, I helped to make 531 of these Mac Nut Chocolate Chip Coconut Cookies. Yes, that is a 5 gallon bucket. I also pressed pie crusts, cracked and separated eggs and did miscellaneous chores. I think I’ll be there till the end of the month then I’ll devote more of my time to the resort. I started that gig on Friday. I had this feeling that I’d walk into a super organized facility, it was far from that.

For some reason, I’ve been spending a lot of time in the bake shop. I’m assigned to it here. Not bad….right? Well, this bake shop was closed down for a while and just recently reopened. As a result, it’s lacking basic equipment that the staff have to bring in; piping tips, spatulas, cutters, etc. And why is it that no one has towels around? Not here or the bake shop. I guess I’m spoiled always having towels around at school. My first task was to pipe the White Chocolate Mousse.

Is it me or does this look like coffee shop product? We were getting ready for the Friday night buffet. 12 desserts to make.

There is no such thing as a standardized recipe. It appears that someone left their book ‘o recipes from 1965. Did I mention the staff has to bring in their own recipes?

At the end of my shift, we set out the dessert buffet. Not bad I suppose. I’d like to see what it’s like in the hot kitchen next.

When the balloon animals come out it’s my cue to wrap this one up. Until next time!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

