Culinary School Here I Come (70) Glucose, Fructose & Sucrose, Oh My!


Whoa, I thought flour and chocolate was confusing. Nothing compares to sweeteners in terms of overinformation! Anyway, I will get to that a bit later. We worked again with chocolate and my task was to produce a Milk Chocolate Praline Creme Bonbon.We tempered the milk chocolate and filled the molds last week but it was time to temper again. We were assigned the tabling method. Tempering chocolate the tabling method is the most difficult. 2/3 of the heated chocolate gets poured on to a marble slab and it gets “agitated” to the consistency of peanut butter. It then gets poured back to the rest of the chocolate and hopefully, you are at 85 degrees of close.

It was kinda stressful at first. Controlling the chocolate on the slab at first was difficult but the rhythm of scraping and cleaning the scraper is the most difficult to get used to. After a while I felt like a pro. I can now say that I’ve tabled chocolate!

With the freshly tempered chocolate, we made some chocolate decor with transfer paper. The transfer paper gets adhered to a piece of tile or stone with a little bit of water.

2 oz ladle of chocolate gets pour and then spread.

Thin and even is the way to go. The chocolate sets for a little while then it gets cut and rolled to shape.

This is definitely a skill. The chocolate has to set just enough to be able to cut but cannot be too set or it will crack when you roll it. Needless to say the first try was a disaster.

This is what the chocolate decor was ultimately used for; Deconstructed Chocolate Pie, Butterscotch PuddingCup and Sour Cream Gelato upstairs at Lei’s Family Class Act American Menu.

Speaking of Lei’s Family Class Act, Chef Tom has started a blog on the Life of a Chef Instructor.  Check it out

When all of that stress was over, we were back to filling bonbons with Praline Cream.

The Praline Cream needed to settle for a few days but we tempered more chocolate on Thursday and closed them up. We are just waiting to unmold them. Other groups did different type of bonbons.

These look like the PB&J’s. Peanut butter and raspberry pate de fruit. They will eventually get dipped in dark chocolate.

I don’t remember exactly what these are…all I know is that there is coconut in it and dipped in dark chocolate. Kinda like heaven!

Enough about chocolate. Sweeteners are going to be a pain in my butt.

Okay, when I started this journey, I knew about powdered sugar, granulated sugar, brown sugar, molasses & Karo. Now my vocabulary has expanded to include invert syrups, sucrose, glucose, fructose, dextrose, fondant sugar, donut sugar, isomalt and polyols. Phew! I’ve been calling them sweeteners lately instead of sugar because some of them didn’t even start out life as sugar cane or beets! Can you say corn, wheat and rice.?

Let’s talk invert syrups for now and just a basic lesson. First, a syrup is a mixture Pralinof one or more types of sugar, water and a small percentage of other items; acids, flavors, colorings and thickeners. Sugar is a disaccharide, meaning there are 2 molecules to sucrose (sugar). The sugar syrup is heated and acid is added which will separate the bound molecules into glucose, fructose and water. You can have a full invert syrup where there is little to no sucrose left of a medium invert syrup where only half of the sucrose is converted. Invert syrups are used in the bake shop when your product needs properties that sugar cannot provide. Invert sugar is sweeter than sugar and browns much faster so oven temperature needs to be taken down. Invert sugar has these properties; it moistens and keeps baked items softer, it keeps icings, fondants and confections shiny, smooth and free from cracks. It also keeps frozen desserts free from ice crystal formation. Invert sugars are typically not made in the bake shop but purchased. Well folks, that is the tip of the iceberg. We start working with sugar this week so I’m certain we will revisit this again.

Speaking of frozen desserts, Santa brought me a Cuisinart Ice Cream maker for Christmas so I finally broke it out. I made the most basic recipe available from the manual. So basic that all you did was dissolve some sugar in milk, add heavy cream, add some vanilla extract and spin. It turned out okay but I’m sure I’ll be whipping up some great flavors soon. I wanted to see how the lay people made ice cream.

I also made a favorite of mine, chocolate peanut butter pie.

Last time I only had Skippy available. This time I had some natural creamy peanut butter. I thought the flavor was better with Skippy. It was harder working with the natural stuff. It kept separating but I emulsified the crap out of it so it stopped separating. The ganache I made this time was better. It was smoother and was easier to spread. Last time I didn’t wait for the ganache to cool before spreading so the peanut butter started to melt. this time there was no melting so it was a neat and tasty little pie.

Next week I begin to acquire my hours for my Work Experience class. I’ll fill you all in later.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (70) Glucose, Fructose & Sucrose, Oh My!

  1. steveaw says:

    lots of good info! don’t get overwhelmed duck!

  2. tinfoilduck says:

    Oh I won’t. I can’t wait to talk about the Brix hydrometer, sometimes called a saccharomneter!

  3. Marnelli says:

    cool post:) kudos on table tempering the chocolate wow:)

Leave a Reply

