Culinary School Here I Come (66) Chocolate Bonbons, Aipono Wine Dinner & End of Semester Celebrations


Monday was the day to package all of the chocolates that we worked on for the past two weeks.

These are the Dark Chocolate Raspberry Truffles that my group worked on.

Not bad work for culinary students!

Basically, classes are winding down. Our Garde Manger class met on Tuesday to discuss the competition and go over topics for the upcoming final exam. I will miss that class. I did learn some great skills and preparations that I would never have learned if I didn’t go to culinary school. I just love the Pate en Croute. I think I’ve said it a few times but they are awesome.

I mentioned in an earlier blog that I received a $1000 scholarship from the Les Amis de Escoffier Society of Hawaii. If you don’t know, Escoffier is one of the most famous chefs of all time. The award was to be presented to me at the Aipono Wine Dinner at the Class Act restaurant. Yippee, I’d be attending the function and eating. Best of all, it was a wine dinner so I got to drink as well. My favorite wine was the dessert Zinfandel.

Seared Diver Scallop with Lychee Radish Relish & Soy Glaze

Duck Two Ways; Duck Confit & Smoked Duck Breast with Cherry Gastrique

Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb

Maytag Blue Cheese with Walnut Bread, Compressed Asian Pears and Red Wine Syrup

Bitter Chocolate Hazelnut Torte, Currant Sorbetto & Chocolate Crisp

Wow, it felt good to be the one being served. Not to be outdone though, as a celebration to end service at The Class Act restaurant, the students, chefs and fellows went out for our celebratory dinner at the Grand Wailea Resort. The restaurant that was chosen was Humuhumunukunukuapua’a. Here are a few photos of our 6 course dinner.

Sous Vide Kobe Beef Shortribs, Kula Brussel Sprouts, Spiny Lobster Poke

Chocolate Volcano Mousse, Liquid Strawberry Lava, Chocolate Lava Rocks.

The dinner was amazing and unfortunately I only got a couple of photos. The dessert was odd in the sense that it was a volcano cake with liquid lava but the dish was served cold. I think they missed the mark on that one.

So I’m keeping this blog to a mere 400 words so that I have some additional time to study for my upcoming finals. Until then, wish me luck!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (66) Chocolate Bonbons, Aipono Wine Dinner & End of Semester Celebrations

  1. steveaw says:

    all the chocolates looks so wonderful & professional in every way! packaging 2! the dinner looks divine 2. as do u.

  2. tinfoillduck says:

    Thank you for reading.

  3. Great work and great ideas to learn about some delicious recipes

Leave a Reply

