Culinary School Here I Come (63) Wedding Cakes Were Due & Garde Manger Buffet


Have you ever had one of those hellaciously long weeks? This week was one of those for me.  A lot of out of class time was needed to finish my cake so that meant getting to school at 6am or sticking around after school till 4pm on days that I normally get home early. It’s done and I’m glad it’s over. Here we are frantically working on getting everything done by due date on Wednesday.

When all was said and done, this was my completed wedding cake.

I went for a Hawaiian flower theme including bird of paradise, several different types of antherium, helaconya ginger, shell ginger, ilima and kukui nuts. I was especially pleased with the torch ginger which is on the upper tier draping down to the second tier. All of these flowers are colored and airbrushed gum paste. Here are our completed cakes in the display window. Kinda impressive, don’t you think?

Starting Monday, we are off to the land of Chocolate.

As I mentioned earlier that I was having a hellacious week, another part of it was prepping and executing our class banquet project.  Each of our 4 groups were assigned a season (we got winter) and had to design 2 hors d’oeuvres, a charcuterie item and a plated action appetizer station. The event was held on Thursday evening so school started for me at 8am and I got home at 8:30, only to get up at 4:30am for a 7am baking class.

Here is what our group offered in our winter tasting menu:

Indian Inspired Pate en Croute with Lemon Aoli.

We used a saffron dough for this Indian chicken inlay in scallop, shrimp & fish mousseline garnished with peas, sundried tomatoes, salmon & shrimp coated in aspic. The journey of this pate en croute started a couple day prior.

Blue Cheese & Thyme Popovers

Curried Kabocha Squash Bisque with Creme Fraiche

Our plated appetizer action station was Maple Smoked Duck Breast on a Sweet Potato Chip with Sweet Potato Mousse, Cranberry Gastrique on a Spinach Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette.

Some additional dishes from other groups.

Hopefully my weekend will be a relaxing one. Just some homework to do and maybe to put up Christmas tree lights!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (63) Wedding Cakes Were Due & Garde Manger Buffet

  1. steveaw says:

    what a lovely posting. so enjoyable!

  2. tinfoilduck says:

    Thanks for reading steveaw. I’ll keep them coming if you keep reading!

  3. All the cakes look great!

Leave a Reply

