Culinary School Here I Come (59) Hors d’Oeuvres (pt. 2) & Maui Culinary Academy Noble Chef


There is no reason for me to ever whine about living on Maui and going to school here.

This is what I see every day while on campus. Whenever I’m stressed, I take a deep breath, exhale and think of this! Someone once said, “my life is better than your vacation” and to this I concur!

It was a slow week as we were all preparing for our fund raising event of the year, Noble Chef. I’ll get to that a bit later. In Advanced Baking class we are starting the section on wedding cakes so all we did all week was to start drawing our ideas out. Oh yeah, we had a midterm on Friday. Possibly the hardest test I’ve ever taken. We were allowed 1 “cheat sheet” but it’s usually the case that what you think is important isn’t necessarily what your instructor thinks is important. I needed all 2 hours for this true/false, fill in the blank, matching and essay. As you know I’m quite a wind bag and can talk my way around a lot. Well, when one of your questions was:ย  Name the 3 bread flours used in the bakery, the protein content and if its a spring or winter wheat, I knew I was in trouble. I don’t think that was a fair question because we ended up blending a lot and we never really focused on flours too much. Also, I’m used an essay question like:ย  Please explain the Angel Food Cake mixing process, not a question that read: Please explain the Angel Food Cake, Bisquit Jaconde, Creaming, High ratio and Liquid Shortening methods of mixing. To top it off, that whole question was only worth 3 points. Ugh.

Oh yeah, we did finally un-mold that wonderful pistachio mousse that I talked about a while back. It was turned into a sheet cake of some sort.

I loved the texture of this mold.

Airbrushing a little green cocoa butter. It’s so crazy working on such a large scale.

Pure heaven! I don’t remember the other components of this cake other than the Pistachio mousse. I was so mesmerized by the mousse that it didn’t matter.

I took the opportunity to test out a terrine that my group is considering to use as our final practical/competition signature dish in our Garde Manger class. I actually made (all by myself and at home) a Pate en Croute.

We were going for a Paella feel so the crust is made with saffron, one of the inlaid roulade is a Chorizo flavored pork, I made a spicy garlic chicken inlay and our mousseline forcemeat is Mahi & shrimp and garnished with peas, salmon, more shrimp, garlic and sun dried tomatoes. It tasted pretty good. I submitted it for review and it was decided that the chicken should stay, pork should go but everything else worked. Hopefully we can agree that this is the one.

I’m glad I asked Santa for a meat grinder. You never know when you need to make some sausage or a forcemeat!

Rolling out the chicken roulade.

We continued to make hors d’oeuvres the whole week.

Triple Citrus Scallop & Salmon Cevice in Cucumber Cups, Barquette of Smoked Salmon Mousse & Poached Shrimp Canape.

I’m beginning to like hors d’oeuvres and the making of them. My task was the Cevice. Small dice of everything made this one labor intensive bite! A barquette is a molded shape, in this case a spoon, of dough. It wasn’t the normal pate dough but something much tougher since it would be picked up. I wasn’t a fan of the barquette. It was kinda dry. The shrimp canape was good. It was on a toast square and some herbed cheese.

Profiteroles with Roasted Piquillo Pepper Mousse.

Prosciutto & Asparagus Napoleons – were made on puff pastry with our leftover herbed cheese.

Our Noble Chef fundraiser was a success. It was held at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea and we served 350. Unlike last year when I was stuck in the wine pit, this year I’ve moved up to the Eastside. The event started with Appetizers served by local guest chefs. The crowd moved into the ballroom for a 2 course sit down dinner then a whole room of desserts. I was fortunate enough to be picked to man the dessert room. Chef Cheech and Chef Chelsea was joined by celebrity chef Stanton Ho from Las Vegas. What a spread.

I manned the Peru Double Chocolate Brownie, Caramel Ice Cream, Cinnamon Caramel Sauce with Pecan station. I was told this was the best.

Praline Profiterole Croquembouche.

French Macaron Croquembouche.

Considering I was around all of this, I only managed to eat the following; a taste of the brownie, half of a bonbon, German Chocolate cake & a taste of Mango Mousse Cheesecake.

With Noble Chef over, Sunday was spent finishing up my wedding cake drawing that is due on Monday.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (59) Hors d’Oeuvres (pt. 2) & Maui Culinary Academy Noble Chef

  1. Yor Ryeter says:

    The photos you’ve posted made me hungry, wait that’s an understatement, really really hungry! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. steveaw says:

    I LOVE all the colors of the desserts & know it must have taken a long time 4 all u hard workers! WELL DONE DUCK! (the job, not how u should b cooked) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. tinfoilduck says:

    Thanks for reading…and poultry should always be cooked to 160 degrees, that is well done!

Leave a Reply

