Culinary School Here I Come (58) Entremets, Hors d’Oeuvres & a Pithivier


You’d think I’m fluent in French, think again. There’s a lot of French terms lately. I have to check out my text book every time I try to spell hors d’oeuvres. Try it sometime. Anywhoo, in Advanced Baking class we have been working on Entremes for 3 weeks now. With all of the work and time, I’m sad to say that each group was only responsible for 1 style of cake. Here is a pic of what our groups produced.

They are amazing cakes to look at, however, since they are mostly mousse filled, they are a bit light…so if you are looking for a nice, hearty cake, which is how I like my cake…the denser the better, then these are not for you. I’ll walk you through the process of two of these cakes. My group did the Caramel Chocolate Fleur de Sel Cake.

Our cake was a bottom up assembled cake, meaning that the cake was built then the ring removed, as opposed to an upside down assembled cake where the top of the cake is on the bottom and the cake pan is inverted. We stared with a layer of Almond Bisquit.

We then made our Chocolate Mousse, Gran Cru Felchlin Arriba 72% no less.

The mousse was layered in.

We then added our frozen Chocolate Fleur de Sel Mousse insert, then popped everything back into the freezer.

We then added another layer of Almond Bisquit and a whole lot of Rum Syrup.

We topped it off with more Chocolate Mousse then back in the freezer.

We used a blow torch to heat the cake rings enough so that we could removed them. The next step was the Shiny Chocolate Glaze.

Then the Chocolate, Caramelized Almonds and voile, an Entreme!

You gotta like chocolate to like this cake. I gotta say, I don’t crave chocolate but that Fleur de Sel mousse was awesome. Salt and chocolate is really a good combination. Maybe I should try a Bacon & Chocolate Entreme! Another group did an amazing fruit based mousse cake.

They started by building walls of Raspberry Roulade.

A base of Almond Bisquit, piped White Chocolate Mousse and another layer of Bisquit.

Then a huge heap of Raspberry Mousse.

Unmolding is more difficult that you’d think.

Unmolded and gussied up. This was one of my favorites.

This one was really cool. Raspberry mousse, raspberry jam, rice pudding and almond bisquit.

We even airbrushed a cake!

Mocha meringue.

On Friday, we left the land of cakes and briefly landed in puff pastry land. If you are going to work in puff pastry, why not a Gateau St. Honore.

Puff pastry base with pastry cream, caramelized cream puffs and Creme Chantilly. If this looks a bit too sweet to you, the how about a basic Pithivier.

This one is a little more my style. Sandwiched between 2 layers of puff pastry is basic pastry cream. Napoleons will be featured next week.

On the Garde Manger front, we left the land of terrines, pate and gallentines and entered the planet of cheese and hors d’oveures. We attempted to make Mozzarella and it was kind of a bust. It was more difficult than I thought it would be.

The milk was heated, infused with citric acid, heated to a higher temp, rennet added, heated again until the curds formed a clean ball, strained, then placed in a bowl over heat.

The curds are massaged into a more pliable state. That’s where our problems began. It never got to the pliable state. I think we will try this again. We also started our Hors d’oeuvre section. Our task was to make and plate up 3 different types ones. On the menu, Blue Cheese Mousse Canape, Feta & Mint Marinated Shrimp and Leek & Goat Cheese Tart. I think we did a good job in flavor and presentation. What do you think?

We are moving on to Wedding Cakes next week. Not actually baking the cake itself but decorating it. We have had a while to think about our designs and will have all week to draw it out. I’m pretty sure mine will be a Hawaiian themed one. Catch you next week.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (58) Entremets, Hors d’Oeuvres & a Pithivier

  1. Everything is absolutely beautiful! Keep up the good work!

  2. I just salivate when I read your posts. Now I need to get my hands on some cake!

    Sara

  3. tinfoilduck says:

    Thanks for reading. Yes, those cakes looked amazing and I’m sure you can find some to chow down on.

Leave a Reply

