Culinary School Here I Come (57) Entremets, Pate en Croute & a Meltdown


In addition to my Advanced Baking I class and Garde Manger, I have a couple of non-cooking classes. One is Menu Planning and the other is Beverage. So I’m sharing an interesting beverage fact:  An establishments wine list is described in terms of breadth and depth. The number of different wines offered is referred to as breadth and the number of wines within a category (Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon) is referred to as depth….I knew there was a reason for me to go to school. To learn!

I have another tidbit: Beer is the most popular alcoholic drink served with dinner and accounts for almost 40% of total alcoholic sales. That’s crazy. I would have never guessed.

We started our Entremet section in Advanced Baking I this week. An Entremet is a composed cake. It can have a base and “walls” and different types of fillings. It’s a long process and we’ll be working on the different components for a few weeks. We baked off a few cake layers last week so now we are working on the mousses for the center.

We are also finishing up on a few cakes that we did last week. Last Friday, we baked off some chocolate cupcakes and today we frosted them with Mint Buttercream and Chocolate Glaze. Our Grasshopper Cupcake is what we called it.

We also finished up our Raspberry Sponge Roulade.

Okay, so I had a teeny tiny melt down in Advanced Baking class today. It seems that each of our groups were in the middle of constructing our Entremets so we were all going to watch each group put them together. So our instructor began to demonstrate the procedure. Well, an hour and a half later, they were still not done. One person had to be taught how to pipe mousse from a pastry bag and another person needed to be shown how to trim and cut a cake in half, not once, but twice. Um, don’t you think that by advanced baking you should be able to use a f***ing piping bag and to know how to trim a f***ing cake? It just amazes me how some of these students lack any kind of motivation to learn or want to learn. It makes the students who want to learn, ME, be bored and waste the whole class period. Oh, and by the way, when you are absent more than you are in class, don’t f***ing ask me “What did I miss?”, because I will slug you. Ok, done venting. As a result, pics for the Entremets will be coming next week….hopefully!

Over in Garde Manger, we constructed a Seafood Pate En Croute. That is a seafood mousseline in pastry. We used a pretty cool terrine mold where it’s in pieces and the bottom slides into position. I guess those are used for terrines in pastry. This looks interesting and we tested our Seafood Mousseline and it was pretty good. A mousseline is like a mousse, however, mousseline’s are cooked and mousses are eaten as is. We used scallops, shrimp, cream, dill and pureed it all. Then some scallop, shrimp and salmon bits were folded in as garnish. Our Pate dough was then rolled out and placed into the mold. The mousseline was piped into the pastry shell, closed, inverted, several vents were cut into it.

Now this I like. We also made a Chicken Galantine.

The flavor of the forcemeat was really good. We encased the forcemeat in blanched spinach. It was cooked sous vide style, chilled, cut and served. I’d prefer it served warm.

We also made a Spinach, Pequillo Pepper, Mushroom & Salmon Gravlox Terrine. It wasn’t cooked but sealed with aspic.

All of the product was coated in aspic.

This is how we decided to plate up our product.

So we are also planning our dish for final competition. It’s a real competition with an outside Chef judging. We have to present a carcuterie item, 3 hors’d euvers  and a composed salad. We are throwing around and idea of a sausage sampler plate with a terrine of some sort and perhaps some freshly made cheese and a bread. Not certain yet but will fill you in.

So, last week was crazy. If you’ve ever been featured on Freshly Pressed, you know what I’m talking about. Normally, I may get 20-30 reads per blog. As you can see above, Friday 800, Saturday 1000, Sunday 1150, Monday 600. I laughed because normally, the scale of this graph tops the view out at 30 or so, 1250 is crazy. Thanks to all who read, liked and subscribed. I hope you like this blog as much as you liked my sisters wedding blog!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary School Here I Come (57) Entremets, Pate en Croute & a Meltdown

  1. As always your pictures make me so hungry! Lovely to look at, lethal for my diet…
    As to people being so off-hand about the classes; it truly puzzles me. Cooking is an art, just as jewelry making, painting and sculpting are all arts. Why take the class if you are not passionate about your art? I can understand blowing off civics class or math (my bugaboo) but cake class-no way! Keep up the good work and looking forward to more “eye candy”.

  2. tinfoilduck says:

    Thanks again for reading. I have many Entremet photos that I had to hold back until the finished product. Took all that I had. I have to keep telling myself that these are 18 year olds (mostly) in school. But then I remember when I was 18 and I was never that unmotivated.

  3. steveaw says:

    hey duck!
    i think u should do a “word/phrase/term of the day” u hve so many that i’ve never heard of! might be fun! love all u write & love reading it!

Leave a Reply

