Culinary School Here I Come (55) Dead Dough, Forcemeat & Cakes


I had one of those days where I just wanted to be done with school. I’m not sure if it’s like this in most culinary schools, but there are a lot of students and not a lot of things to do. So we are always broken up into groups and there usually isn’t enough to do so there is a lot of standing around and watching. Well, I was over it this week. I’m so done with groups. I want to be responsible for my own tasks. I don’t like people telling me what to do when they have no business telling me what to do. With that said, I had a soso week.

In Advanced Baking, our “groups” were assigned to make and construct a dead dough fall themed sculpture. Dead dough is dough without yeast. It doesn’t rise and you can add color. My “group” made a fall themed cornucopia complete with and intricately woven basket, molded apples, pear, corn, squash, pumpkin and a boatload of leaves.

Not bad!

We also started our cake section. We worked on several types of foam based cakes; biscuit, biscuit jaconde, roulade, American moist chocolate cake. We also got a demo of pate a decor….or cigarette paste. A very thin layer of colored batter is spread out & frozen and another color layer is added and frozen, then the real cake batter is poured and baked off. All of these cakes were baked thin because they will be used for other types of cakes.

More cakes to come next week.

In Garde Manger, we started our Pates, terrines, galantines and roulades. Yuk. I’m not one for pureed meats but it was nice to learn about it. We made a Duck Terrine with Dried Cherries that has yet to be unmolded. I do like what a terrine looks like.

Oh yeah, I did manage to fabricate a duck. Boy, they got some thick skin that is very hard to remove from its flesh.

We also made some eggplant carvings.

That was my week in a nutshell. Hope next week is better on me.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Culinary School Here I Come (55) Dead Dough, Forcemeat & Cakes

  1. steveaw says:

    lots of cool new stuff! what is cigarette paste? quack! quack!

Leave a Reply

