Culinary School Here I Come (36) Week 11, Spring Break


I haven’t been this excited about spring break since 1979. I though I would take advantage of my time off to get some badly needed (neglected) things to do around the house.  But first…watch this clip (let me just remind you that I’ll be 52 in April but I’m going on 13.

Too much time on my hands. So I set out to do a mass cleaning of my windows. It has been soooo long that it wasn’t too easy. I needed to remove screens, rinse off dirt and then windex. I managed to get about 60% done. I also needed to refinish my outrigger canoe paddle. That required me to sand and re-varnish. What a pain that was. I also spend a whole day getting my invoices and receipts ready to get my taxes done. It’s the first time in years that I haven’t needed to file an extension. I keep every receipt (Starbucks coffee, random musubi’s, etc) so it takes a while so I have to psych myself out for this whole day ordeal. I was also expecting 2 sets of guests. One was only for drinks and pupus but the other was a full on dinner and a sleep over. My week was already spent. So I decided that I needed a free day, so, the tinfoilduck spent the day at one of his most favorite areas….Iao Valley. Here are a few pics.

At the parking lot.

At the Chinese Gazebo in Kepaniwai Park.

Lounging on a rock at the Iao Valley stream.

It was a nice relaxing day spent in an area that brought back a lot of memories growing up.

I was paging through some of my earlier blogs and discovered that I stopped filling you in on my background before real estate and culinary school. I mentioned that I was a dancer and had worked on Fame and I was fortunate to do a Nissan commercial that was choreographed by the now infamous Paula Adbul. Check it out.

Who uploads all this stuff to Youtube? It’s a fast paced commercial but I’m usually on the right side in a gray sport coat and longish hair. My dance days were really fun. After my stint on Fame, I did a few videos and did some trade shows for Reebok, Hobie and Hang Ten. That was the glory days of dance, the 80’s. Then the recession hit and there was no money to pay for a troupe of dancers to parade their fashions at a trade show fashion show. I had outsmarted them all. I left dance and got my real estate license. I’ll talk about this over the summer break.

So down to business. Earlier in the week, some friends from Palm Springs were in town for a visit. So we had them over for drinks and pupus. I made my trusty Roast Pork Quesedillas with Pineapple Salsa and Roasted Green Pepper Coulis Poached Shrimp. The shrimp was awesome. The roasted pepper coulis is my favorite poaching medium now. On Friday, my friend Eufelia, back from my waiting tables days at Stuart Anderson’s Cattle Company, was coming to Maui and spending the night with us. She was looking forward to what the duck had planned for dinner. I decided to recreate the menu that we just worked on at the Class Act last week.

On the menu, Miso and Sake Marinated Salmon, Asian Rosotto and Stir Fried Asparagus & Grape Tomatoes with Miso Butter. I managed to prep 75% of the dinner the day before. I love knowing that you can prepare risotto ahead of time and finish it off when needed. This will allow me to include risotto in lots more dinners.

I also had this idea of serving ice cream with a chocolate dipped Kitch’n Kook’d potato chip. If you don’t know what a Kitch’n Kook’d chip is, you are missing out. It’s only made on Maui. It’s a thicker cut with lots of salt. I figured the salt would offset the sweet chocolate. I was surprised that the chip wasn’t salty enough but when I sprinkled Li Hing powder on the chocolate, it gave it the much needed saltiness. It was a success.

Oops, excuse the bug on the right. We have a lot of gnats around lately.

I will be relishing my last few days of being on vacation…if you consider doing homework and more cooking relaxing. Next week we are off to Latin America for our menu.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

