Culinary School Here I Come (31) 2nd Semester Week 6, Pacific Rim & A Sick tfduck!


What is Pacific Rim, you ask? Imagine East, West, North and South all converging in the kitchen. It uses Asian cooking techniques & wonderfully fresh ingredients as the focus of each dish. It is known here as “Hawaiian Regional Cuisine”. It’s a way to highlight the diversity of beautiful, fresh foods with healthful cooking methods like grilling, wok stir frying and steaming.

That being said, it can mean a lot. Our menu this week and next week is Pacific Rim inspired with dishes like; Asian Pest Grilled Shrimp with Pohole Fern Salad, Steamed Opakapaka and Hawaii’s own Loco Moco….reinvented. The food was so awesome that I decided to hold back and not show you anything until I’m in the kitchen cooking…so patience is a virtue. It’ll be worth it.

Our Wednesday day of service found me as the bread server. Kinda boring job. I just needed to keep everyone’s bread plate full. We served Challa (unusual choice for Pac. Rim), sometimes the baking dept. just doesn’t get it.  That was a pretty mellow day. Unfortunately for me, but mostly for my classmates, I wasn’t able to be in class on Friday due to illness. I don’t like staying home from school so it was really hard for me to call in sick but it was in my best interest and the best interest of the other students and guests. A total of 5 students were out on Friday so I picked a bad day to be sick! Quack….

On the Food Science front, we are studying eating disorders this week. In addition to Anorexia & Bulimia, there is another eating disorder called Pica. Pica is the consumption of non food items like; animal droppings, clay, burnt matches, coal, coffee grounds, corn starch, dirt, foam rubber, laundry starch, leaves, mothballs, nylon stockings, paint chips, paste, pebbles, sand string and wool. Just think of the newly found ingredients for some upcoming dishes…Foam Rubber Chips with a Coal Beurre Blanc and Cornstarch Dust.

A newly recognized eating disorder is Binge Eating Disorder. If you consume several thousand calories worth of food within a short period of time, feel a lack of control during the binges, experience distress or depression after the binges, experiencing these binges at least twice a week for a period of 6 months…that would be your label. An estimated 9-30% of people in weight control programs and 30-90% of obese people have binge eating disorder.

Valentine’s Day Dinner:

It’s been a long time since I’ve had lobster tail. Lobster Tempura anyone?

Surf & Turf

Grilled Rib Eye Steak with Roasted Garlic Butter, Lobster Tempura with Pineapple Sweet/Sour Sauce, Steamed Asparagus with Roasted Red Pepper Coulis, Cilantro Spiked Jasmine Rice.

New York Style Cheesecake with Chipotle Pineapple Salsa Sauce.

I’m not a big meat red meat eater, therefore I’m not too well versed in cooking red meats. I’m planning to make a roasted lamb dish with a sauce that I made and I’m holding. I had a couple of roasted green peppers to which I simmered in it’s own juice, some sugar, salt, pepper and lemon juice. I reduced then pureed and it quite an unusual blend of sweet with the bold flavor of the roasted red pepper. This flavor is perfect for something like lamb. Maybe next week.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

