Culinary School Here I Come (28) Week 3, Your Table is Ready


Well maybe not. Oops, where are the spoons!

That’s our dilemma. There is a shortage of teaspoons. A clear case of what it could be like out in the real world.  Anyway, if I were setting this table I’d lose the place mats and use table cloths. After all it is a $30 price fixed lunch. Whatever.

So this week marked my first day of table service. I eased into it by being the host on our first day of service. I was scheduled to be a back waiter but because of another classmates tardiness I was bumped up to front waiter. WTF! I’m not ready. I took a deep breath and drew on my past food service skills of 30+ years ago and before I knew it…It’s showtime folks!

Our dining room has one of the best views on the island. You can see the West Maui mountains and the Kahului Harbor.

Back to service. We have 4 seatings; 11:00, 11:30, 12:00 and 12:30. We serve a 6 course lunch consisting of the following; when the guests are seated, they are served an amuse bouche (awakening the palate). It’s a tiny bite to welcome the guest and get them ready for their meal. We then serve an appetizer, a choice of soup or salad, the intermezzo (usually a sorbet to refresh the palate), a choice of meat, fish or vegetable entree, then dessert. Like I said before, I had some food service experience but none over 3 or so courses. What I discovered is that things can get pretty confusing when you are in mid service on 6 courses with several tables, having to use a POS system to fire all courses and maneuvering the minefield of tea, water, wine and champagne service. Now why am I in Culinary School????? I never thought I’d be serving again. Fortunately I did not experience a meltdown but glad I will be over the service segment in 5 more weeks. Woohoo!

I am looking forward to working in the Coffee Bar.

Come to papa my pretty! I actually owned a Cimbali vacuum manual pump machine that was such a pain in the arse. It looked awesome but it needed 15 minutes to heat for only 1 cup. I sold it on Craigslist and got me a Starbucks model.

I’m looking forward to my shift in the coffee bar. Here we prepare water and iced tea for the servers. We also brew French press coffee, which is much superior to American drip. We also make espresso, cappuccinos, mochas and lattes.  The tinfoilduck will be flying high on caffeine and feeling no pain.

On the serious class subject front, I had another quiz in Miss Dell’s Mgt 118 class. The topic for the quiz was “Making Sound and Creative Decisions”. The quiz was only 5 questions but the last quiz wasn’t true/false or multiple choice. I expected the worst and it ended up being pretty easy and I got 5 out of 5. We got a couple of chapters to read for next week.

In my Food Science course. One of the articles we had to comment on was the use of insects as food. Thanks but no thanks. I did learn that the protein content for a wasp is as high as 65%…thanks but not thanks. Maybe if I lived in the third world country.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

