Culinary School Here I Come (27) 2nd Semester Week 2, Lei’s Family Class Act is OPEN


This past Friday was the official opening of the Lei’s Family Class Act. The restaurant serves a 5+ course price fixed lunch featuring students as servers and cooks. After a week and a half of stressful preparation, the doors opened and we were off an running. As in most classes, the students are split up into groups and my task for opening day was to be the host. Yeah, I can do that! In the 10 or so years of food service, I never ran the front desk. It was interesting to say the least.

The calm before the storm.

First day of service

From what I could observe, things ran relatively smooth. There was 1 water spill accident and a few mixed up orders but nothing major. I can’t say anything about the kitchen. I don’t think anything went wrong there either. The day was set up to be a light day. We have 4 seating times; 11:00, 11:30, 12:00 and 12:30. We only allowed 4 tables per time interval, so it was manageable. Wednesday is our next day of service and we will take up to the maximum amount of covers. We also have a party of 16 set up in our private dining room and a VIP. The Chancellor of the University will be bringing in some guests for lunch. I bet with my luck he will be assigned to my section. I’m not sure yet what post I will be assigned to (front waiter, back waiter, bread server, floater, coffee bar or seater.)

I won’t be saying much about the food for now because I will get to all the menu items when my section is assigned to the back of the house. I can’t wait for that. We are featuring our Asian Inspired Menu this week.

Most of the week was consumed by the stress of the Class Act service. I am also assisting a Chef for one of my work experience class. If you check out my earlier blogs while I was in Chef Dean’s class, you will get to see what I will be assisting the chef with. That section is called “Skill Building”. My job is to help the chef out with getting the tasks assigned and answering any questions that the students may have. I really like to teach and at one point, I wanted to be a teacher. It comes naturally to me.

There hasn’t been much excitement in my Management class. We will have a quiz on the first chapter on Tuesday. At that point I will figure out how much or little I need to study for this course. I’m also taking an online Food Science class. I’m pretty much ahead in terms of assignment submissions so I don’t think that course will be an issue. I want to be back in the kitchen though. I’m counting down the next 7 weeks!

I cooked a lot this weekend. Friday night I served a simple pan fried Salmon and topped it with Curried Zucchini and made the best Dried Fruit and Shallot Couscous. I have a love/hate relationship with my crock pot. I vow to throw it away, then I make something good, then I make something again and it’s not very good. Last night was one of those nights. I threw some brisket in the crock pot and let it cook for almost 7 hours and it was still pretty tough. The flavor was good but too tough! Tonite will be simple fried then baked chicken. If you lightly pan fry chicken thighs then finish it off in the oven, it doesn’t get so greasy. Fall off the bones tender. Yum.


About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

