Culinary School Here I Come (26) 2nd Semester Week 1, New Year, New Semester, New Challenges


Being in Culinary School or any other school I assume makes you appreciate vacation time. We were off for a month and it was heaven…kinda. I was paranoid when this journey started that I would put the pounds on while in school. It is ironic that I actually lost 5 pounds in school and put 5 pounds on while on vacation. What gives?

New Years Eve Dinner Menu – Crusted Salmon with Moroccan Spices, Lilikoi Beurre Blanc, Leek & Zucchini Risotto, Roasted Red and Yellow Beets with Pomegranite and Balsamic Reduction all topped with a Garlic Butter Roasted Miataki Mushroom.

Getting my New Year’s Dinner menu was interesting.  It was a mash up of dishes that I enjoyed making throughout the year. I really like making and eating beurre blancs, however, it’s not the most “heart healthy” so I prepare it on occasion. The dinner was a success and we toasted the New Year in with some Italian Proseco and watched the fireworks at the Grand Wailea.

Now back to school. It appears that I may have overextended myself. The max amount of credits that you can carry is 18 and I have 17…remind you that I also have a job and a life. So I ordered my books once I knew that I was confirmed for my classes and started reading.  On the menu:  Culn 160 – Dining Room Service, Culn 220 – Advanced Cookery, Culn 294v – Practicum, Mgt 118 – Introduction to Supervision and finally Fshn 285 – Science of Human Nutrition. With all of these classes, I will only get to cook for 8 weeks….starting in 8 weeks. What a bummer. My Food Science class is online so I can work on it as I have the time…within reason. My supervision class with our teacher, Miss Dell, may prove to be the thorn in my side. In addition to the fact that we have to address the teacher as Miss Dell (um she’s probably somewhere in her 60’s), she addresses us by Mr/Miss First Name. Mr. Tinfoilduck to you Miss Dell! This course is as far away from a culinary class as the moon. Not looking forward to homework for this one. My Culinary practicum class should be a breeze. I have to pick a mentor chef, and work for him/her to reach 35-45 hours for an “A”. I’ve already got my Chef and will be starting on Tuesday. I’m going to get this work done and off my plate asap. My advanced cookery class is partnered with my dining room service. The students staff the front and back of our high end restaurant, The Lei’s Family Class Act. The menu is a 4 course price fixed menu which requires fine dining service. Now, I’ve been a waiter in the past….the very distant past….for about 10 years. It was a good way to make a lot of money in a quick work shift, however, when I left the biz in the mid 80’s, I vowed never to return. So this week has been a challenge to me and also a step backward for me. I will hold my nose, suck it up and just repeat, I will be out of the dining room in 8 weeks, I will be out of the dining room in 8 week, I will be out of the dining room in 8 weeks. Don’t get me wrong, I think everyone should at some point wait tables…but I’ve paid my dues. The whole diamond in the semester is the Advanced Cookery class. This class prepares the food for the Class Act. I am looking so forward to that. Next post will be about our first day of service, surely to be a train wreck. I’d prefer to be a fly on the wall instead of the cast of characters. Pics of the menu and space to follow.

But before I sign out, I learned an interesting fact in my Nutrition class that I’d like to share with my peeps. If you cut out 100 calories worth of food per day, that adds up to losing 10 pounds per year. Easier said than done.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

