Culinary School Here I Come (23) Week 15, The End is Near


The first semester of Culinary school is coming to an end…not a minute too soon. This was the second to the last week of instruction and full week of production. Next week will be a short production week. We also have to do a group project where we compose a menu and sell it. Easy enough right, we shall see….but first,

On Friday, we participated in our “Iron Chef” competition. We picked a protein from out of a hat…not the actual protein but what the protein was, then we went off to Whole Foods to purchase some fresh product to augment our dish. I was partnered with Kaycee. We had worked on a few things together so I knew she could handle it.

On the menu:  Lilikoi, Mango and Citrus Glazed Skewered Shrimp and Beets, Thai Curried Kale and Quinoa Pilaf.

I, who tends to under season, added a bit too much Thai green curry paste. It was a little hot, not too much I thought. So the reviews were that the Curry was way too hot, the menu was confusing, huh?, and the beets were not necessary. What do you mean the beets were not necessary? Have you ever seen a beet on a skewer? Give us some credit for creativity. I don’t remember the exact amount of points that we got but it turned out to be a B+. I suppose that’s okay. I will try to simplify next time…yeah right!

These are other entries from the class.

With that out of the way, the duck spent most of Saturday, actually I started on Friday night, getting ready for my tree trimming party. It was called “Family, Friends and Good Food”. On the menu: Beef Bourguignonne, Creamy Polenta with Parmesan Cheese, Turkey Breast Roulade with turkey sausage and sage stuffing and gravy, Steamed Broccoli with Brown Butter, Pork and Mango Quesedillas and Pumpkin Cheesecake for dessert. All are pictured below. My friend Jackie brought over some amazing cheeses. One was a Coffeed Cheddar which was amazing. Here’s a few pics from the night.

Cheese plate and Mango and Roast Pork Quesedillas with Pineapple Salsa, Guacamole and Sour Cream. This was a winner. Try mango with pork next time…you’ll see why.

Turkey Breast Roulade stuffed with Turkey Sausage, Cranberry and Sage Stuffing. I really got the stuffing down. Turkey roulade is the way to go. Moist and tender. I used Chinese tea as the liquid for the brine.

The buffet spread last night.

The tree is up and it’s now time to study for finals.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

