Culinary School Here I Come (22) Week 13, The Holidays are Coming!


As a culinary student in culinary school, it would be sacrilegious for me to even think of not making turkey stock for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday.

Let me back up a little though. I have no idea why turkeys are so inexpensive. I bought 2 15# turkeys for $3.75 each. That’s crazy. Anyway, the plan was that I’d de-bone one and make a turkey roulade then cut the other one into pieces and de-bone the breast. I’d have turkey for the year. A word of advice, make sure your turkey is thawed because it can give your fingers some major frost bite. So I was able to de-bone the first one. I originally was going to include the thigh in the roulade but it seems like the thigh meat has a lot of connective tissue that won’t break down during cooking so I’m only going to roulade the breast. The fabrication is over on both turkeys and they are back in the freezer until closer to Thanksgiving.  I’ll take it out and brine it for a while then stuff it with a Chicken Sausage, Cranberry and Prune Stuffing. I’ll wing that as stuffing is pretty easy to put together.

I’ve been keeping chicken bones in the freezer, now I have my big turkey carcass so I roasted all the bones and started my stock. Nothing says the holidays like a pot of stock simmering all day…and maybe some tea and scones. That’s one thing I miss about living in LA. When the weather got cooler, it was easy to take my 5:00 tea. It was already dark. Here on Maui, I’m pushing it if it gets dark by 6:15. I must wait for an overcast day.

Okay, so once I start in the kitchen I cannot stop. Case in point, after spending a whole day making stock, I decided to use some of it in the light cream sauce. The entree is Sauteed Chicken Breast with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce. I was able to use the tomato concassee that I prepared a few days ago. The sauce is finished with cream and topped with sauteed mushrooms. I also served Red Potatoes with Butter and Parsley and Steamed Broccoli with a Roasted Garlic and Parsley Compound Butter. It was yummy. I’m still working on my presentation. I loaded too much stuff on the chicken so you really can’t tell what the entree is. Better luck next time.

Oh yeah, in class this week, we served an amazing Pork Loin and Jus Lie with the most amazing Apple Sauce I’ve ever had. The secret is adding an ancho chile to the apple mixture and let the whole thing steam. Awesome! I’m definitely serving that for Thanksgiving. We also served a Roast Beef on Creamy Polenta. I don’t think I’ve ever had polenta that way before so it was a surprise. It was spiked with Manchengo cheese so that helped. Roasted root vegetables accompanied the meal as well as a dollop of creamed horseradish.

I was responsible for this lovely Beluga Lentil, Roasted Vegetable, Pesto and Smoked Mozzarella Cheese Crepe. The crepe is topped with Roasted Tomatoes and Sour Cream with Chives. I’d like to point out the plate presentation. The dots are Chive oil with a speck of Balsamic Vinegar reduction. Getting everything to line up was harder than making the crepe.

Next week is a short week because of Thanksgiving. Later!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

