Culinary School Here I Come (17) Week 8, Farm to Table


“But officer, I was only doing 40 according to my Spud-o-meter!” I got this handy dandy freebie at the Food Show (fill you in later). Potatoes are graded and packed by their size. The number you see represents how may potatoes are packed in a box (approx.), so the larger the number, the larger the potato and less in a box. Just another culinary tidbit of trivia.

I’m finally making good on my lack of Farm to Table pictures. The week was spent serving the public at various stations at F2T.

The cast of characters getting ready for service. I just noticed the garlic perched on the yellow pepper. Gotta speak to our stager.

Asian Chicken Salad – Romaine lettuce, julienne carrots and cucumbers tossed with a soy/sesame dressing, topped with chicken, Mandarine orange slices, candied cashews and fried won ton bits.

Turkey Cobb Spinach Wrap – Sliced turkey topped with romaine lettuce, bacon bits, egg wedges and tomatoes, all topped with creamy ranch dressing.

Garlic – Rosemary Lamb Gyro – Is our best seller. I wasn’t a lamb person until I had a taste of this. It’s not actually a true Gyro (no pita), it’s actually a wrap but this is Maui you know. Grilled lamb with sauteed peppers and onions, romaine lettuce all topped with a mint-almond pesto aioli.

Ham and Cheese Panini – Ham, Swiss & cheddar cheese, tomatoes and peperocini peppers all grilled to an oozy mess of love!

So that has been my life for the past 2 weeks.  We switch to the Paniolo Grill where the items are cooked to order. Can’t wait for that. Seared Ahi Benedict anyone?

No major dinners for the tfduck this week, other than this jacked up version of Mac ‘n Cheese. Go big or don’t go at all. I used garlic sauteed shrimp and made it a Garlic Shrimp Mac ‘n Cheese.

Looks a little like a Cobbler but take it from me, it was good! It’s topped with Panko bread crumbs, Asiago cheese, fresh thyme with a touch of olive oil.

The week culminated with the HFM/Morrad Food Show. HFM is a local food distributor and they were displaying their wares. I haven’t seen this much food since the buffet at the Sahara in Las Vegas.

Sell, sell, sell!

If you like produce like I do, this is heaven. Bottom right are baby beets (striped, yellow and red), snap peas, dragon beans, celery root and lots of potatoes. We normally don’t see this kind of produce on Maui so this was a treat. It was like I was at the Hollywood Farmer’s Market again.

There were samples galore, however, I opted not to have any chicken sashimi. I did hear that the listeria cream sauce was to die for (I just made up that funny!)

I don’t have a picture for this vendor, but I wrote a little about them on my facebook page. They were meat providers that sold prepackaged and precooked meat items. I sampled their precooked roast prime rib. It literally melted in my mouth. I’m not a beef person at all but this was amazing. It got me to wonder if the beef had been “altered” in any way, like perhaps, saline injection or something else. I didn’t think about that until after I left for the day. There has to be some kind of preservative in precooked items. Something to think about for next show.

On a different note. I have had this demo laying around for some time now. Have you ever seen how poi is made? Here is a demo of how the taro (kalo) root is pounded into a paste that we know as poi. That is not entirely accurate. The paste is thinned down with water to make the proper consistency for the family who is eating it. At that point it is called poi. Click on the link below to see the demo.

Taro Pounding Demo

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

