Culinary School, Here I Come (16) Week 7, First Week of Short Order/Cold Pantry


Tinfoilduck entertains again.

I wanted to share a few funny (not so funny at the time) thoughts that I had during the week. As I was bringing my trash cart back from dropping off bags of trash as well as pig slop (yes, pig slop), I thought to myself….”I sell million dollar homes and when I lived in LA, I had a housekeeper…so remind me why am I in culinary school again?” That was a low point for me during the week. I want to cook, not wash dishes or take the trash or slop out. I have to remind myself that the first semester is going to be as close to hell as possible.

So this was the first week into our new rotation of classes. We are in the Short Order Cookery and Cold Food Pantry. We are now downstairs working in the Food Court Kitchens..so we are actually serving food that is ordered by students and the public. The group was split into two sections, one group is working in the Farm to Table section which is salads, wraps and cold items. I’m in that group. The other group is working in the Paniolo Grill which is made to order meals. That section seems to be a little more stressful, as each item needs to be cooked then assembled. At F2T, we are just assembling. I’ll get there in a few weeks. I had intended to take some photos but with the new location and tasks, I always forgot to bring my camera into the kitchen. I will next week.

Enough about school, tinfoilduck entertained again this past weekend. A friend from Los Angeles is visiting so I planned a 5 course dinner.

First course, Tofu with ginger and chives and a soy/sesame dressing.

Second course, Vichyssoise…or cold potato leek soup for the uncultured hicks! Yum, it was heavenly. I do believe this was one of the crowd favorites.

Third Course, The entree:

Mahi Mahi Wellington – My twist on the traditional Beef Wellington. I use Mahi instead and bake it in a pastry crust with a duxelle filling. Duxelle is a mixture of finely chopped shallots, mushrooms, butter and vermouth. It is sauteed until almost all the liquid is dried out.

Twice Baked Potato Surprise – What is the surprise you ask? I use a bit of Okinawan (purple) Sweet potato in the center and cover it with mashed potatoes and some asiago cheese. Some butter is drizzled over the top and baked.

Roasted White Asparagus with a Sage Bechamel Sauce. Since I make a Lasagna for an office meeting earlier in the day, I saved a little of the bechamel and steeped some sage leaves in it.

Rosemary and Thyme Roasted Beets with a Dijon and Balsamic Vinaigrette  topped with a Baked Goat Cheese Medallion. That’s a mouthful, but an impressive item to list on a menu.

Fourth Course, Cheese and Fruit Plate. Apple, Peach, Toasted Walnut, Double Cream Gouda, Spanish Goat Cheese all drizzled with honey.

Fifth Course, Mango and Bananas Foster. I love preparing this. It is a flambeed dessert. Butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, rum, bananas and mangoes all sauteed, flamed then served over vanilla ice cream. Who wouldn’t like that?

So that was my week. I promise to get more pics of the line for my next blog.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

