Culinary School, Here I Come (13), Week 4


You overachievers can relate to this. I had an exam in my Restaurant Management class.  The test was worth 50 points with a 5 point extra credit. I got a 55! Woohoo.

My skills class takes us most of the day. I’m in Restaurant Management on Tuesday and Thursday at 7 AM, then off to skills from 8 till around 1:30 or 2:00. The day is a combination of cooking for groups that we serve for lunch, preparing for future lunches, miscellaneous demos and some lecture.  This week, we learned how to butcher a whole salmon, we made Char Siu Bow, made some home made squash and blue cheese ravioli and cut, peeled, chopped and diced many vegetables.  I’m glad to say that my hands were cut free for the week.

We have this huge text book “On Cooking”. It’s over 1200 pages and weighs about 25 pounds.  It is a combination text book and cook book in one. I spend most of the week on a chapter called Stocks and Sauces. Oh my, there’s a lot of info. I was always intrigued by sauces and it is making a little more sense.  Have you ever heard of a mother sauce?  Well, there are 5 mother sauces from which more “small” sauces are made from. The mother sauces are; Bechemel, Veloute, Espagnole, Tomato and Hollandaise. Most people know three but few know what a Veloute and Espagnole are. A Veloute is a roux thickened white stock.  From the Veloute comes; Bercy, Cardinal, Normandy, Allemande, Aurora, Horseradish, Mushroom, Poulette, Supreme, Albufera, Hungarian and Ivory sauces. Espagnole is made from brown stock thickened with brown roux and mirepoix and tomato puree.  From the Espagnole comes; Bordelaise, Chasseur, Chateaubriand, Chevreuil, Madeira, Mushroom,  Perigueux, Piquant, Poivrade and Robert sauces. I sure hope I am not required to remember all of this because I won’t.

We also went on a field trip so I will blog about that next time. I will load a poi pounding demo for you all to watch.  Until then, later.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary School, Here I Come (13), Week 4

  1. Linda says:

    Okay, here’s what I am always wondering … how to keep my knives really sharp. I take them to Dave the Sharpener at the farmer’s market, but it’s expensive to do that. I’ve tried different gadgets but maybe I’m not doing something right. So I’m wondering if you will share what you have learned about this topic, and/or any tips ….

    • tinfoilduck says:

      If you’d like to invest about $100 in a piece of equipment that will last forever and keep your knives sharp, purchase yourself a whetstone. Use soapy water instead of oil. I will try to find a link on sharpening knives with a whetstone and send it to you. You really have to see it to be able to do it. It’s a 3 sided sharpening tool (coarse, medium and fine). Then you finish your knives on a steel. Everyone thinks a steel will sharpen a knife, but the steel only straightens out any burrs that were not removed during sharpening. You should “steel” your kives frequently while doing your task.

Leave a Reply

