Culinary School, Here I Come (12), Week 3


Just another Saturday night dinner!

So I had planned to give you the lowdown of what I did this past week but I decided to screw that since I spent most of the day in the kitchen today doing what I’m in culinary school to do….Cook.  I had to be at home all day because my work required me to be available via computer for any incoming leads on inquiries of Maui real estate.  I figured since I had to be at home all day, I should spend it cooking.  So I pulled out everything that I learned in the past few weeks.  The menu; Chicken Roulade with demi-glace, Rosemary roasted red beets with a miso balsamic vinaigrette and baked Yukon Gold potatoes with a roasted garlic butter.  Here are some pics of the process.  Let me know what you think.  Kudos to Chef Dean for his inspiration.

My victim

I win! Not a bone in sight

Roasted chicken bones, mirepoix, boquet garni and fond are the basis for my home made stock

Cranberry stuffing for the Chicken Roulade

Multi-tasking; chicken stock and chicken roulades simmering

First stage of Chicken Roulade. The roll is cooked in simmering water until it reaches an internal temperature of 160 degrees

Roasted garlic for the Baked Yukon Gold Potatoes with Roasted Garlic Butter

Demi-glace made from a mixture of roux thickened stock plus an equal amount of additional stock and reduced by 50%

Second stage of the Roulade. It is baked at 350 degrees until the internal temperature reached 160 degrees

After an exhausting day in the kitchen and on my computer, sitting down to this dinner was pretty awesome.  I had always been a relatively good cook but it seems like I’ve kicked it up several notches.  The dinner was actually quite good.  The demi-glace was the perfect foil to the slightly salty brined chicken.  The balsamic vinegar and miso vinaigrette was perfectly balanced between the tartness of the vinegar and the sweetness of the miso.  The roasted garlic put the baked potato over the top.  Subtle, yet definitely letting you know it was there.  On a scale from 1 to 10, I’d rate it a 9!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Culinary School, Here I Come (12), Week 3

  1. Jackie Joniec says:

    Oh man…..I’m sooo jealous. Looks amazing!

  2. YUUUMMMMMM!!!!!!!! I’m on the next flight to Maui, baby!!! 🙂 Looks awesome!!!

  3. Cliff Meyer says:

    I thought everyone in Hawaii cooked with Spam!

  4. Tobi Fisher says:

    OMG is there any leftovers?

  5. Linda says:

    That roasted garlic on a potato looks to die for. So does that stock. This whole page is an inspiration.
    I am a beet hater, but just found this beet recipe in NYTimes and I love it: shred two or three raw beets (chiroggia are pretty, or just the regular). Splash of olive oil and double squeeze of fresh lemon juice. Toss with a little salt. Beautiful plated on a romaine leaf.

    • tinfoilduck says:

      I love beets but have never had it raw. Good suggestion. I’ve only seen the regular ones here on Maui. We served a beet salad today with goat cheese rolled in Panko and baked. I was in heaven for a while!

Leave a Reply

