Culinary School Here I Come (11), Week 2


Chef Dean demonstrates how to make a Chicken Roulade.

I truly felt my age at the end of this week. Tuesday and Thursday are both early days. I’m in class by 7AM. Up at 4:55 and on the road by 6:45. Monday, Wednesday and Fridays are a bit better. It all starts an hour later. What is killer is standing up for so long. My nice, high arches from dancing are now dropping down to flat, platypus feet. It was a busy week. We served 2 Rotary Club meetings and made the following: Chicken Roulade (see video), Pesto (see video), Caesar dressing, numerous soups, chicken and beef stock (don’t forget to roast the bones before you make the stock), pickled jalapenos, meat balls, chili (chile is the plant, chili is the stew, chilli is the powder), pasta primavera and ground beef and pork. I managed to get cut only twice. We were tested on our julienne, batonnet, brunoise and various different sizes of dice. We made roux, bouquet garni, mire poix and stay away from me and my mise en place! We peeled, chopped and sliced onions, garlic, shallots, parsley, tarragon, thyme, and last but certainly not least, carved mushrooms.  What a week and I’m looking forward to next week.

Chef Dean demonstrates how to make basic Pesto.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

