Culinary School, Here I Come (9) First Day


The big day came and went and the world did not come crashing in. I have to admit there are a lot of very young students. Putting on my chef gear was pretty exciting. Went through the proper protocol of coming in through the side door (the culinary school is part of the student dining room so they are training us now that the back of the house does not enter through the front. Sound like back of the bus to me.) The day was spent getting to know the instructors, touring the facility and checking the other students out…my future competition. We played this “breaking the ice” game that proved to be a little more difficult. Everyone had a sticker placed on their back of some kind of food. We paired off and had to ask each other questions about what food we had. It’s harder than you think. I started with, “Am I an entree? Am I a protein? Am I red? Am I a soup? Am I Italian? I’ll tell you now that my word was Cioppino. Well, unfortunately all of the 18 year olds that I asked did not know what I was so I eventually had to partner with one of the instructors.  So I started asking him some questions. I got as far as asking if I was bouillabaisse. He said no but very close. I did find out that I was Italian but was stumped. I concentrated for a while and then got it. There were some easy ones like Teriyaki Chicken that this poor girl could not get. It was an exercise to get us to ask questions.  Anyway, looking forward to the rest of the week.

I believe we will have another day of orientation then we are into the kitchen.  Until then…

“Try not to become a person of success but a person of value.”  Albert Einstein

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

