Culinary School, Here I come (6)


Hmm, where are all the people. I was hoping that my blogs would be read by more people. Last I checked, I think I’ve only had about 7 or 8 views on all 5 blogs so far. Can someone give me a suggestion?

Who needs the expensive froufrou french ones. I got mine from Target at about $25.

Student orientation begins in a week. I’m starting to get really excited. I really don’t know what to expect. I’m sure that the first semester will not be fun. It will probably be a lot of basic stuff; cutting, chopping, washing, etc. I can’t wait for the baking. I made a country pork rib roast over the weekend that was awesome. I have a cast iron dutch oven that I picked up from Target for about $25. Screw that fancy french brand. The secret is blooming the spices in the tomato paste with the hot oil before the liquid is added. I was introduced to this while reading a book on Indian food. The spices become more intense if it is heated. I’ve been using cardamom pods a lot lately.

I forgot to finish my latest story about my background. So, while in LA, my last audition was for Disneyland’s Captain Eo with Michael Jackson. I stayed till 8pm and was cut at the last minute and had to bus it back home. I was in no mood for another audition but they were casting for dancers on the TV show FAME. I was 25 at the time and thought that I could never pass as a high school student so I decided that I wasn’t going to the audition…period. The next morning came and of course, I was on a bus back to the Debbie Reynolds Dance Studio to be part of the mass audition for the 5th season of FAME.

to be continued…

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

