Culinary School, Here I come (3)


On Cooking, 5th edition, comes in at a whopping 1181 pages not including the workbook.

Books, books and more books. Well, actually not. Culinary School books are expensive. Fortunately I only need 3 so I thought my tab wouldn’t be that bad. Wrongo! I first shopped at the campus bookstore. “On Cooking” is a 1200 page hardcover bible for the kitchen and a workbook. That one was a mere $130. Then my “Servesafe” online course book was about $100. The most puzzling was a paperback book called “Restaurant Management”. It is about 300 pages and looks very much like what a $20 book costs but it too came in at $100 (used). No way I say! Off to Amazon I go. Maybe since I haven’t been in school since 1980, online, I’ve discovered, is the way to go. My “On Cooking” book cost only $85. The “Servesafe” book was $85 (some saving but not lots) and the best was that dinky “Restaurant Management” book for $45. All with super saver free shipping. Amazon, I love you. Shipping is very expensive on Maui. I once ordered business cards that cost $45 to produce and $55 to ship. I thought they were shipping it from Mars but it was only Oakland.

Oh yeah, about me again. So in LA, I continued to audition. I wasn’t as successful as my first audition.  I may have gone to 4 or 5 more then I snagged what I believed to be an amazing gig. I was booked to be a dancer in Madonna’s La Isla Bonita video. Yippee. I called everyone that I knew back in Hawaii. I have made it in LA. I was so excited. Well everything that you’ve heard about Madonna is true. She was kinda bitchy. I asked her if I could take a photo of her. Her response, “No, I’m working”. Bitchplease so am I. So I snagged a few in action. Hope you like this one. (By the way, I’m not posting the video as I spent more time on the cutting room floor than in the video.)

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

