Farm to Feather to Table: The Start of my Garden


I must apologize for not blogging about what I had intended to blog about….my immersion circulator. I still have not purchased my blow torch. My usual neuroses are at play. I’m over analyzing and procrastinating on my purchase. I could either get a creme brulee torch online or get a more heavy duty torch with a propane cartridge. If I get that, do I spend the extra cash for a spark ignite or get a plain one and just use a match. So, sadly I will continue to put off the purchase because I will continue to put off the decision. Of course I cannot use my immersion circulator if I don’t have a blow torch to finish it off!

But, my garden is done and it’s a pretty fancy one with 4 raised beds and 4 flat beds all on a drip and spray irrigation system. Each bed has it’s own shut off valve so I won’t be watering a bed that I’m not planning to use. It took a little longer than expected and of course it cost a bunch more that I hoped for but I’m excited and that is all that matters.

This is what that space looked like before.

I have begun to plant. I purchased some tomato, zucchini and cantaloupe starters, as well as some established herbs. I have also purchased many packets of seeds, like corn, pumpkin, watermelon, beans and butternut squash. It’s so exciting to see plants sprout from seeds.

I must admit, my favorite bed is the corn, bean, butternut squash, orange heirloom tomato and pumpkin bed.

So, the principle in this bed is that the corn stalk will act as support for the French beans. Since both are vertical crops, I can grow butternut squash directly on the bed. In the foreground are pumpkin seedlings and cages for the tomatoes to grow up on. I can’t wait to see this one in full production.

I didn’t realize there was such a thing as an orange zucchini. I like the flowers. Hopefully, I’ll have a lot of flowers to batter, fry and eat. I have a few shade canopies so lettuce is a perfect crop. I have some arugula and mesclun. I started both from seeds. Very easy!

I did buy the kale already growing. I couldn’t find any from seed.

I planted a green fig and brown fig tree awhile back as well as this starfruit. I have 3 fruit for this harvest.

I take for granted planting these things so late in the season. In Hawaii, we can grow pretty much anything at any time of year. I’m hoping that the pumpkins will be ready for Halloween…or at least Thanksgiving.

I’m certain I will have a bumper crop. Here are other crops that I’ve planted; fennel, Japanese eggplant, Roma tomato, watermelon, poblano pepper, yellow pepper, shiso, French breakfast radish, red beets, leeks, thyme, Italian & Thai basil, Italian parsley, chives, sage, sweet marjoram & Italian oregano. I hope I didn’t bite off more than I can chew.

I’m getting ready to thin out the corn rows and watermelon and I’m waiting to see what my fennel sprouts will look like. It’s pretty exciting to see things grow from the ground. I’m sure what I serve will be affected by what is ready to harvest. Now I have to figure a way to stop the ants. They’ve been marching around lately. Oh yea, and this guy…

He does not look too happy and I have mixed feelings about having him around. I have an above ground fish pond that I’m trying to keep him out of. I haven’t been too lucky with some of his relatives. I may try to keep him around to help me with my ant and other insect problem. If not, Toaducken will be on the menu!

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farm to Feather to Table: The Start of my Garden

  1. Steve Whipple says:

    i like how simply u explain things & “toaducken” is a new classic!

  2. tinfoilduck says:

    You’ve never had Toaducken?

Leave a Reply

