My Immersion Circulator Has Arrived!


Look at what the delivery man just dropped off.

I’m on the road to Sous Vide and the bus will leave this weekend. Should it be Beef Short Ribs, Duck Breast or a Rack of Lamb. Aw nuts, I forgot my blow torch. I can pick that up at Ace or Home Depot. This unveiling will definitely be documented.

I’ve been laying low these past few weeks. School was pretty intense so I decided to give my culinary career a break and go back to selling real estate. It has been a good decision as I listed and sold a house in 3 days with 2 offers. Kaching!!! I don’t want to depress you by doing the math as to how long I’d have to work as a cook to make the amount that I’ll be making from this sale. Maybe I should have done the culinary thing first before real estate but I never thought of going to culinary school 30 years ago. With that said, you have to be really devoted to the craft in order for it to “pencil out”. For me, I’m using my culinary prowess to impress friends and clients. On that note, I had a Homemade Pizza Party last weekend for some good friends who just so happen to be clients. I love when that happens.

The duck and Roxie stretching our dough.

Pizza dough is so easy to make and not that difficult to work with. Any recipe will do. I used a little bit of whole wheat in this batch. Maybe next time I’ll use some bread flour to see how that affects the texture.

Check out James’ crust on the right. We were all so very impressed.

The sauce options were basil pesto and red tomato sauce. I actually threw the sauce together pretty quickly (Saute minced garlic in olive oil, add tomato sauce, dried basil, oregano, salt and pepper). Quick and very tasty. I should have added some red pepper flakes for a little heat.

Before I get into the toppings, I have to let you know that I cold smoked some mozzarella, tomatoes and nectarines. The cheese was for the pizza, tomatoes and nectarines for the salad. The tomatoes picked up the most smoky flavor. I would probably smoke Roma tomato halved then roast them with garlic and olive oil. That would be killer. The nectarines were amazing. It picked up just the right amount of smokiness. I’d like to try a smoked nectarine pie sometime. Of course I don’t have a real cold smoker so I had to go ghetto.

So, for toppings, I offered green and red peppers, fresh basil, rosemary (wow, that was really good), olives, soy pepperoni (Roxie is vegetarian), roast pork and pineapple. We were very successful. They all tasted amazing and we had a blast making them. You should try it sometime.

Oh, did I mention that I’m going back to school in the fall? I was considering Neurosurgery but settled just for a digital photography class. I got the writing part of my blogs down, it’s just my photos that are lacking in quality. Hopefully that will be resolved in a few months. I assume I’ll be investing in a better camera and some lighting.

I sort of despise the Food Network.  I don’t think any of their programs are good anymore. It’s all competition and too much Guy Fieri. I do love the Food Network Magazine. They have a bunch of good recipes and some tips. Here are a few:

1.  The smaller the item, the higher the baking temperature. Mini cookies can be baked at 500 degrees for 3-5 minutes.

2. When chopping herbs and garlic, toss some garlic on the cutting board to prevent them from flying all over the place and from sticking to the side of the knife.

3.  For better tasting asparagus spears, peel the stems and roll them in equal parts of salt & sugar. Let them sit for 10 minutes, then rinse.

I’m sold, but not sold enough to subscribe. I never get through a whole magazine before another one arrives. I will wait until they come into my life.

I totally forgot to mention that I had a dinner party a few weeks ago. It was 6 courses:

Vichyssoise with Wheat Croutons, Fried Leeks and Green Onion Oil

Caprese & Roasted Beet Salad with Balsamic Reduction and Arugula with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette.

Getting ready to steam my Seafood Lasagne on Banana Leaves in this wonderful bamboo steamer.

Crab and Seafood Lasagne with Coconut and Lemongrass Cream Sauce with Mushrooms.

Lemon Basil Sorbet. I never get tired serving this nor tasting it. It’s something that amazes every time you take a taste.

Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon with Snow Crab and Sauce Bernaise on Avocado Moussaline, Mushroom Couscous and Roasted Kabocha Squash.

Unfortunately I didn’t snap a photo of dessert. I will keep you in suspense!

I’m in a rut. I keep making the seafood lasagne and caprese over and over again. I need to expand a bit. If I post those dishes again, shoot me! Like I said before, it’s sous vide time.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Immersion Circulator Has Arrived!

  1. Steve Whipple says:

    YUM! YUM! YUM! especially the pizza! QUACK! QUACK!

Leave a Reply

