Culinary School, Here I Come (10) Hooray, end of the week!


Yippee! I never thought that a Friday would be so special. In real estate sales, there is no such thing as a weekend. I’m off from school for 2 whole days.

Highlights of the week:

Today:  A actually deboned a whole chicken. Yes, I wasn’t very fast this first time, but it’s a manageable task and it looked pretty good. I wish I brought my camera. I look forward to deboning a turkey for Thanksgiving. Oh yeah, no finger cuts for me. We had 4 mishaps (including our chef).

Yesterday:  There is a lot of reading to do. I’m afraid to get behind so I’m trying my best to keep up. I submitted a couple of assignments that aren’t due until next week so I can get it off my plate.

Wednesday:  Showing clients houses after school is definitely going to be a bitch. I got home at 6 totally exhausted.

Tuesday:  Peeling an onion was a major epiphany. By doing it my old way, I wasted a lot.

Monday:  Getting over the first day.

All in all, it was a pretty easy week…I’ve been told. Looking forward to next week when we actually make broths, stocks, soups and sauces.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary School, Here I Come (10) Hooray, end of the week!

  1. Linda says:

    Hmmmm… what’s up with deboning a turkey for Thanksgiving? I always thought meat/fowl etc were supposed to taste better and retain moisture cooked on the bone.

    Signed, Genuinely Curious

    • tinfoilduck says:

      Dear Genuinely Curious, It is true that turkey does retain moisture if cooked on the bone, however, if you brine the turkey after removing it from the bone, it could be just as moist. I will get back to you on Black Friday.

Leave a Reply

