Culinary School, Here I Come (8) It’s Orientation Day


So here I am at orientation. When I first walked in, there were only 3 people…all of which were about 17 years of age. As time went on, more and more people arrived the more comfortable I felt that there will be other older people. So far, it’s clearly a younger person thing. There seems to be more guys than girls but we will see when all is said and done. I’m sitting at a table with an older guy named Dean. He’s originally from Michigan but has been on Maui for a while. This is a change of career for him. He was a drywall plasterer and is planning to change careers. The check in line is pretty slow and unorganized. So people are trickling in here and there. Oh crap, I just found out that the uniforms that the class purchased from Out of the Blue has the culinary program logo embroidered on it. What am I going to do?  I bought mine online so I think I’ll have to get it done and pay extra. Such is life.

Yippee, there seems to be an older woman who just walked in. There’s a good chance I may not be the oldest person here.  That’s what I’m worried about.  Actually not worried, just freaking out a bit.

So, orientation began with a brief introduction of the staff.  What was expected of us and what we should expect of the program and some question time. We broke into our sections. The first semester core work is broken into 4 sections. My section is headed by Chef Dean Louie. He’s a bit of a talker but I think he likes me. Each of the groups went on a mini tour of the facility. I snapped these pics of the holy grail….the commercial and teaching kitchen. How exciting. I can’t wait to get myself going.

Isn’t this heaven!

Some of my peeps.

Later gorgeous, I’ll be seeing you in a few days.

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary School, Here I Come (8) It’s Orientation Day

  1. Gosh, what a gorg kitchen! I never summed up the courage to go to culinary school. Sigh. Love that I can live vicariously through your blog!

    • tinfoilduck says:

      Thanks for reading! Yes, the kitchen is amazing. It’s a bit of a letdown when I cook at home, especially when I break out my Kitchenade mixer. It feels like a Barbie funhouse version of the 40 quart mixers we use at school.

Leave a Reply

