Culinary School, Here I Come (2)!


Okay, so where was I?

First, I’ve ordered my culinary school uniforms online. We had the option of going to a local restaurant supply store but their elastic pants were not what I considered fashion forward. Realize that there are not a lot of options on Maui so, I hit the internet. ChefUniforms.com has some good prices and shipping wasn’t bad at all. I saved about $100 by getting my stuff online. How exciting it was when the package arrived yesterday. I quickly unpacked it and tried on my flat, zippered front traditional houndstooth chef “slacks”. It has been a while since I’ve worn slacks. I wear my jeans below my waist and my boardshorts here all hang pretty low, so when I tried the pants on, it was kinda disturbing to find the waistline just below my chest. It reminded me of bull fighting pants! The only other option is to wear it low with my crotch down to my knees. Not comfortable.

Oh yeah, getting back to some of my history. So I was a young kid in ’85 having just moved to Los Angeles to “make it” as a dancer, I didn’t know what to expect. I stayed close to UCLA for a few weeks then I found an apartment around the Wilshire & La Brea area just west of Koreatown. I made sure that I lived close to the dance studio that everyone went to at the the, Dupree Dance Academy. I pretty much lived there and I was in total heaven. After a month in LA, I heard about an audition. It was for a music video to the Jermaine Jackson son Perfect from the movie of the same name starring Jamie Lee Curtus and John Travolta (when he was skinny). So I bummed a ride out to the Debbie Reynolds Dance Studio in the valley for my first audition. I don’t remember much about the audition but we were all supposed to be in an aerobics class so I’m sure the choreography wasn’t too hard. I am proud to say that I ended up getting that gig. Not bad I thought. Getting my first gig from my first audition. I had arrived! Through the magic of Youtube, I am one of the young dancers in this clip.  Enjoy.

Perfect (The closest Thing to)  by Jermaine Jackson

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary School, Here I Come (2)!

  1. Linda says:

    I will never forget the saga of the pants. ROFL here!

Leave a Reply

