Culinary School, Here I come!


Holy crap.  What did I do?


I love that I can totally vent to you people who I don’t know. I recently had this wacky idea to register for Culinary School. There is one tiny little detail…I’m a full time real estate agent. So, come with me as I begin this journey into places that I’m not sure I’m prepared to go.

I just recently moved back to Maui after leaving in 1977. I lived on Oahu for 8 years, then Los Angeles for 25.  My move back to Maui was intended to be a “semi retirement” move. I wanted the most important question of the day to be “should I go to the beach before or after noon?” Well, that ain’t happening now.

I’ve registered at the world famous Maui Culinary School at the University of Hawaii Maui College campus. Well maybe it’s not world famous, but it is highly regarded as one of the best programs in the University of Hawaii system. Now a little history about me.

I’m 51 going on 22. Was born and raised on Maui and graduated from Maui High School in 1977. My goal in life was to be a Certified Public Accountant. I shortly realized that my goals were quite short sighted, when I moved to the big city and discovered myself. Within a couple of years I was a Dance major at the University of Hawaii (via Accounting, Fashion Design and Theater). The decision to switch majors came one night after drinking a bottle of Rose wine. It was an upgrade from the Boone’s Farm Strawberry Hill that we drank in high school. Anyway, after declaring my major I shortly realized “I don’t need a degree to be a dancer” so I was off to San Francisco to guest in a dance concert. For a Hawaii boy, winter in San Francisco was like Siberia. I returned to Oahu and co directed the only dance company in the state. To put things into perspective, the year was 1982. There was no Dancing with the Stars and So You Think You Can Dance, so not very many people were exposed to the art. After a 4 year stint with the company doing night club shows, I had choreographed, made costumes, taught classes and worked (you will notice that I’m very good at multi tasking, hence real estate and Culinary School), I declared that I was tired of giving and I needed to learn again. I boarded an airplane bound for Los Angeles to “make it”. I didn’t sing so New York wasn’t an option but hell I could fake a lot so TV and film were my options.

To be continued…..

About tinfoilduck

I had this wacky idea to go to culinary school, while maintaining another full time career. I will be blogging about the program and how it affects me as I try to manage my daily life and how I try to keep everything together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Culinary School, Here I come!

  1. Linda says:

    “I’m 51 going on 22″ Priceless!!!

  2. Wow you must really be of excellent health to do and have done all those things! I’m very impressed. Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

